Opening Ceremony

“It’s time to reach out from your field and grab what you do so desire” Dr Stuart Cunningham

So once again it has come around to that time of the student calendar for us all to note, learn and take action of our futures. With Dr Stuart Cunningham kick-starting the festival of creative futures with his wrestling themed entrance showcasing what the university has to offer through media, filming and all the technology that is around to enable such acts, as well as carry a light yet funny tone with such an entrance.

The opening ceremony is to clearly welcome us to the chance of getting our careers off the ground and making use of what’s on offer while we still have the resources. With it being my final year many of the guests and information earnt will prove to come hard to find and receive. Having been to the previous year’s opening ceremonies and them all being similar, this one meant much more with graduation looming ever closer, with what I was being told finally sinking in. What struck me most was all the facts and figures circulating, with over 13% of creative media employees having vacancies for creative’s and being told how design is flourishing within the welsh nation, with such a high and desired demand for creative’s. Giving hope to me the humble designer of what it is that I shall do once the end is actually upon me and that I have options.

After taking all stats, figures and references on board I feel like I am finally one step closer to achieving what I want and ready to listen to everything thrown at me this year with the great range of knowledge and advice circulating from the people having been in similar positions as I am. I even have an idea of what talks I want to see as well, with a blend of inspiration, business and advice from the likes of Robert Ball, Dave Gray and Sian Saunders.


Leave a Reply

