“From student to artist” with Michael Robinson

“Where are you now & where do you want to be?”

Such words that truly got me thinking. What am I actually wanting to achieve as a graphic designer, is it the field of graphic design that I still want with the crossovers into graphic illustration and print, or am I to stray away from the dream that I’ve had since beginning uni. As of right now I can simply say, I am working away, producing the style of graphics that is expected of me and being restricted in what it is that is I want to create. The desire to draw the unusual, and tackle projects with my own style seems to not be acceptable, so I am afraid I am not where I want to be. But can combat that with where I am hoping to be, come graduation later this year.  With the wanting to be screenprinting and producing gig posters, or become part of a studio’s team truly creating the inspirational.

The guest speaker Michael Robinson, in a matter of seconds had the room pondering themselves and exploring into their own creativity with a greater depth. Having gone through the same experience and now passing on what he knows and what he had to go through to get to where he is now. All of which proved to be of great value to us, and most of all myself, taking note of every gram of advice. What stuck with me most and still does is “The fear of beginning is bigger than the actuality of doing”. Changing my view now as a designer, knowing that everyone goes through the same process, but as soon as a task is to come my way I am to scribble anything and everything down that is simply in my head however little it may have towards relevance. It gets me over that beginning hurdle. And will now become a part of my process in future creativity ventures. Once over the whole stigma of being bogged down at the starting grid, consider every location that could become the home to your work, whether its a cafe, library or window of an empty shop, it’s an opportunity for your work to be seen. Taking such risks like Michael did, and asking, gets you places that you wouldn’t necessarily expect to be. He asked for the most hardest to reach wall up three flights of stairs to feature as a home to his artwork, a truly impressive prospective when you think about it. And when finding a studio, managing to hook up and share a studio all off the back of asking, a motto of his that seems to get you far.

Through all of Michael’s endeavours and experiences, the one thing that he couldn’t avoid was doing the drab and the work that you morally never wanted to have to result in doing.  A prospect that we as designers want to stray away from and is a thought of mine that I don’t really want to result in doing, But still know that it could be something that I end up doing, especially if my desires and ambitions either don’t take off or aren’t fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

